Pick 6: Fight On

By Kolby Paxton

For the next ten weeks, I will continue to offer up a Pick Six, exclusive to the readers of Razorback and Jenkins. Concurrent with these selections, I offer the following disclaimers: a) I don’t completely suck at this, but b) keep in mind that gambling is illegal – sort of. Still, in case you’re wondering, c) I do put my money where my mouth is, so to speak.

Last week, Cincinnati (-4), Kentucky (-7), and LOTW Georgia (-3) won big. Unfortunately, Wisconsin (-8), Washington (-23.5) and Arkansas State (-23) each struggled mightily. What’d we learn? Stay the hell away from Wisconsin (Who knows what’s going on in Madison?), the LSU defense (Ridiculous-er than last year?) and Arkansas State (They’re a good Sun Belt squad. I thought they’d be a good college football squad. They’re not, and its not the same thing.)

Season record: 7-5. LOTW: 2-0.

I’m calling my shot, Ham Porter-style. Provided Auburn holds up their end of the bargain, a perfect week is very much in play. As uncomfortable as I was with last week’s picks, I’m that comfortable with the most recent edition.

   KENTUCKY (-7) over Western Kentucky

Is Western Kentucky better than Kent State? Maybe so. Is it close? Yes. Yes it is. We won by taking the ‘Cats (-7) over the Golden Flash a week ago, and we won to the tune of 47-14.

While Kentucky won’t be challenging for an SEC East title, they’re in a class above the Hilltoppers. I am aware that WKU hung with the Wildcats last season. For some reason, I watched that game. Even with Willie Taggert’s best shot, UK covered this year’s 7-point spread. Vegas has whiffed on Kentucky for a second week in a row. Enjoy.

   Texas A&M (-13.5) over SMU

Baylor smashed the Mustangs in Week 1, reminding anyone who may have forgotten that Garrett Gilbert still sucks. The former-Longhorn averaged a whopping 4.8 yards per attempt versus the Bears, followed by a pedestrian 19-of-36, 205/1/1 effort versus the mighty Lumberjacks of Stephen F. Austin.

The Aggies fell apart in the second half versus Florida, but showed flashes of potential brilliance. They’ll rebound in a big way in Dallas on Saturday.

   Alabama (-16) over ARKANSAS

Assuming that Tyler Wilson is not under center for Arkansas – and, for his sake, I hope he’s not – the Hogs are getting roasted at home on Saturday. Regardless of who is at quarterback, Paul Petrino will likely still be allergic to running the football, and Paul Haynes’ defense will still be atrocious.

It will take 40+ to beat the Tide, 30+ to beat the line, and I don’t think Barnum and Bailey have either in them. For the record, however, I’d very much like to be wrong.

  Virginia Tech (-10) over PITTSBURGH

I have no idea what I’m missing with regards to the Panthers. They stunk versus Youngstown State. They were even worse in Cincinnati. While I am a fan of Munchie Legaux, he is but a poor man’s Denard Robinson. Logan Thomas is a middle-class man’s Cam Newton.

Which man would you rather be? More pertinently, if Legaux torched Pitt with 322 total yards, what should we expect from Thomas?

   AUBURN (-13.5) over Louisiana-Monroe

I don’t like Auburn. I don’t like Gene Chizik. I don’t even really like Kiehl Frazier. With Malzahn gone, Frazier is in for a bumpy career, and Chizik would be wise to update his resume’.

Having said that, I like the Tigers to cover the spread on Saturday. If AU doesn’t get by the Warhawks, they’ll be staring down the barrel of an 0-5 start. Unlike Arkansas, who shuffled down the hall in their PJ’s last week, Auburn should be wide awake for this one. The Tigers, like the Razorbacks, are vastly more talented than ULM. With any semblance of defense, the Hogs would have escaped in spite of it all. I’m not trying to convince you that AU is any good – just that they’re 14-points better than Monroe.

LOCK OF THE WEEK:    Southern Cal (-8) over STANFORD

Andrew Luck is not walking through that door, but with a line this low, you’d sure think that he was.

The Trojans weren’t exactly a shining example of defensive aptitude at MetLife on Saturday. But, seriously, if you’re pointing to a cross-country road trip, interrupted by a lightning storm, viewed by a capacity crowd of 841, as evidence that there’s a Stanford-sized chink in the armor, you’re really reaching.

Kudos to the Cardinal for embarrassing Duke at The Farm, thus, adding to the Luck carry-over phenomena. Unfortunately we’re not talking about basketball. The Cardinal don’t have the horses – or should I say horse (singular) – to score with USC. At eight points, they might as well lay this one on a tee and hand you a boat paddle.

Leave a comment